Apartment 7

Apartment 7 is named after the Indian Group of Seven. The ‘apartment’ allows the space to be anywhere, and not just one geographic location. The Seven, to represent Morrisseau, Beardy, Janvier, Ray, Cobiness, Odjig, and Sanchez. The Indian Group of Seven was the moniker Winnipeg Free Press reporter, Gary Scherbain, gave to a group of seven native artists who, in 1973, gave birth to the Professional National Indian Artists Incorporation.

As a cultural connector, I feel it was important to create space for Indigenous and non-Indigenous artist and curators and have works in response to their community. Apartment 7 is located on Treaty No. 1 the original lands of Anishinaabe, Ininiwak, Anishininiwak, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis.


Photograph features from left to right: Jason Baerg, Alanis Obomsawin and Liz Barron